Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Our Faculty

Our faculty members exhibit professionalism, passion and a commitment to education. But their unparalleled dedication goes beyond teaching and research. It extends to the community where they contribute to the intellectual and cultural life in New Mexico by sharing their talents and time.

The outreach and advocacy they provide is especially critical given their expertise in high need areas and the educational challenges that the state faces. You’ll find our faculty running professional development seminars for teachers, hosting summer institutes on campus, acting as resources for local schools and serving on local, state and national committees in their fields of expertise. Students aren’t sidelined either—they are always encouraged to participate in outreach efforts, academic and non-academic settings, creativity, language learning, language retention, bilingualism, literacy—and then use what they learn to shape educational policy.

SPCD Staff

Audrea N. Winslow

Audrea N. Winslow

Department Administrator for Special Education

Hokona-Zuni, Room 106
505 277-6915
anp@unm.edu
Read more

Suzie McCalmant-Garcia

Suzie McCalmant-Garcia

Special Education Graduate Programs Coordinator

505 277-5018
specialeducation@unm.edu
Read more

SPCD Faculty

Margo Collier, PhD

Margo Collier

Program Coordinator, Educational Diagnosis Certificate (EDAG)

Associate Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 290
505 277-4273
collierm@unm.edu
Read more

Susan Copeland, PhD, BCBA-D

Susan Copeland

Program Coordinator, Special Education

Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 264
505 277-0628
susanrc@unm.edu
Read more

Erin Jarry, PhD

Erin Jarry

Program Coordinator, Dual License

Lecturer III, Special Education

Hokona Hall 102
505 277-0731
ejarry@unm.edu
Read more

David Hart Lewis, PhD

David Hart Lewis

Lecturer III, Special Education

Hokona Hall 150
505 277-0227
hlewis@unm.edu
Read more

Ruth Luckasson, JD

Ruth Luckasson

Chair of the Department of Special Education (SPCD)

Distinguished Professor: Special Education

Hokona Hall 101
505 277-6510
ruthl@unm.edu
Read more

Megan Martins, PhD, BCBA-D

Lecturer III, Special Education

Hokona Hall 286
505 277-6882
mmartins@unm.edu
Read more

Veronica Moore, PhD

Veronica Moore

Co-Program Coordinator, Autism Spectrum Disorder Program

Lecturer III, Special Education

Hokona Hall 280
505 277-4462
vmoore@unm.edu
Read more

Allison Nannemann, PhD

Allison Nannemann

Assistant Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 256
505 277-6376
nannemann@unm.edu
Read more

Tiffany Otero, PhD, BCBA

Tiffany Otero

Assistant Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 264
oterot@unm.edu
Read more

Yen Kim Pham, PhD

Yen Kim Pham

Assistant Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 268
505 277-7967
ykp@unm.edu
Read more

Cathy (Huaqing) Qi, PhD

Cathy (Huaqing) Qi

Program Coordinator, Autism Spectrum Disorder Program

Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 257
505 277-4452
hqi@unm.edu
Read more

Julia Scherba de Valenzuela, PhD

Julia Scherba de Valenzuela

Associate Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 254
505 277-1406
devalenz@unm.edu
Read more

Loretta A. Serna, PhD

Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 294
505 277-0119
rett@unm.edu
Read more

Sunaina Shenoy, PhD

Sunaina Shenoy

Assistant Professor, Special Education

Hokona Hall 259
505 277-0497
shenoy@unm.edu
Read more

Clare K. Stott, PhD

Clare K. Stott

Lecturer III, Special Education

Field Coordinator, Dual License Program

Hokona Hall 141
505 277-3202
clareks@unm.edu
Read more