Skip to main content

Welcome Dean Burley

We do much more than educating teachers, counselors, and researchers. We inspire each student to lead, to celebrate diversity, and to make a lasting difference in the world. As New Mexico’s flagship college of education, we deliver high-quality instruction, diverse course offerings, active research programs, and challenging professional development opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students. Our stellar and highly diverse faculty leads dynamic classes while conducting innovative research on today’s educational challenges.

Dean

Hansel Burley, PhD

Hansel Burley

Dean of the College of Education & Human Sciences

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-2231
hburley@unm.edu
Read more

The DeanCast

The DeanCast features discussions with faculty, alumni, and students on a variety of topics. Follow us at fb.com/unmcoehs to catch the next one live.

Latest Episode

DeanCast #05
Contested Homelands: Knowledge, History,
& Culture of Historic Santa Fe, New Mexico


Associate Deans

Tryphenia Peele-Eady, PhD

Tryphenia Peele-Eady

Associate Dean for Equity, Inclusion, and Faculty

Hokona Hall, Room 210
505 277-0437
tbpeele@unm.edu
Read more
 

Kristopher M. Goodrich, PhD

Kristopher M. Goodrich

Associate Dean for Research and Distance Education

Simpson Hall, Room 129
505 277-7222
kgoodric@unm.edu
Read more
 

Jay Parkes, PhD

Jay Parkes

Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Graduate Education

Simpson Hall, Room 120
505 277-3320
parkes@unm.edu
Read more
 

Department Chairs

Zia Hossain, PhD

Zia Hossain

Interim Chair of the Department of Individual, Family, and Community Education (IFCE)

505 277-4162
zhossain@unm.edu
Read more

Ruth Luckasson, JD

Ruth Luckasson

Chair of the Department of Special Education (SPCD)

Hokona Hall 101
505 277-6510
ruthl@unm.edu
Read more

Christina Perry, PhD

Christina Perry

Chair of the Department of Health, Exercise & Sports Sciences (HESS)

Johnson Center, Rm 1161
505 277-1983
cperry2@unm.edu
Read more

Cheryl Torrez, PhD

Cheryl Torrez

Interim Chair of the Department of Teacher Education, Educational Leadership & Policy (TEELP)

Hokona Hall, Room 244
505 277-1169
catorrez@unm.edu
Read more

Administration Staff

Monique Chavez

Monique Chavez

Admin Assistant to the Dean

TEC, 3rd Floor
505 277-7267
machavez@unm.edu
Read more

Brianna Fragua

Admin Assistant

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-2733
bfragua@unm.edu
Read more

Amy Korzekwa, PhD

Director of Assessment and Accreditation

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-1000
akorzekw@unm.edu
Read more

Christine Marquez

Christine Marquez

Faculty Research Support Officer

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-6797
cmarquez24@unm.edu
Read more

Kieva Tedesco

Senior Scheduling Coordinator

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-3639
tedesco@unm.edu
Read more

Sarah Valles

Sarah Valles

Academic Operations Officer

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-7255
sarahc@unm.edu
Read more