Skip to main content

COEHS Administration

We do much more than educating teachers, counselors, and researchers. We inspire each student to lead, to celebrate diversity, and to make a lasting difference in the world. As New Mexico’s flagship college of education, we deliver high-quality instruction, diverse course offerings, active research programs, and challenging professional development opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students. Our stellar and highly diverse faculty leads dynamic classes while conducting innovative research on today’s educational challenges.

Dean

Kristopher M. Goodrich, PhD

Kristopher M. Goodrich

Interim Dean of the College of Education and Human Sciences

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-2231
coehsdean@unm.edu
Read more

Associate Deans

Tryphenia Peele-Eady, PhD

Tryphenia Peele-Eady

Associate Dean for Equity, Inclusion, and Faculty

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-8933
tbpeele@unm.edu
Read more

Jay Parkes, PhD

Jay Parkes

Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Graduate Education

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-7919
parkes@unm.edu
Read more

Carolyn J. Hushman, PhD

Carolyn J. Hushman

Interim Associate Dean for Research and Distance Education

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-2925
ckimble@unm.edu
Read more

Department Chairs

Zia Hossain, PhD

Zia Hossain

Chair of the Department of Individual, Family, and Community Education (IFCE)

505 277-4162
zhossain@unm.edu
Read more

Glenn Hushman, PhD

Glenn Hushman

Interim Chair of the Department of Health, Exercise & Sports Sciences (HESS)

Johnson Center, Room 1155A
505 277-1983
ghushman@unm.edu
Read more

Carlos LópezLeiva, PhD

Carlos LópezLeiva

Interim Chair of the Department of Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Studies (LLSS)

Hokona Hall 292
505 277-7260
callopez@unm.edu
Read more

Cathy (Huaqing) Qi, PhD

Cathy (Huaqing) Qi

Interim Chair of Department of Special Education (SPCD)

Hokona Hall 257
505 277-4452
hqi@unm.edu
Read more

Cheryl Torrez, PhD

Cheryl Torrez

Chair of the Department of Teacher Education, Educational Leadership & Policy (TEELP)

Hokona Hall, Room 244
505 277-9611
catorrez@unm.edu
Read more

Administration Staff

Crystal Davis

Program Manager

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-2930
cdavis2@unm.edu
Read more

Brianna Fragua

Program Coordinator

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-2733
bfragua@unm.edu
Read more

Clinton Johnson

Administrative Coordinator

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-7267
cljohnson1@unm.edu
Read more

Amy Korzekwa

Director of Assessment and Accreditation

TEC 176A
505 277-1000
akorzekw@unm.edu
Read more

Christine Marquez

Christine Marquez

Faculty Research Support Officer

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-6797
cmarquez24@unm.edu
Read more

Kieva Tedesco

Senior Scheduling Coordinator

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-3639
tedesco@unm.edu
Read more

Tabitha Thomas

Unit Administrator

TEC, 3rd Floor
505 277-0835
tthomas7@unm.edu
Read more

Sarah Valles

Sarah Valles

Academic Operations Officer

TEC, 3rd floor
505 277-7255
sarahc@unm.edu
Read more