Skip to main content

LLSS Department Faculty

Skip to Educational Linguistics Program Faculty


Language, Literacy, & Sociocultural Studies Program Faculty

Rebecca Blum Martinez

Professor, Bilingual/ESL; 
Director, Latin American Programs in Education (LAPE)

Office:
Hokona Hall 248
Telephone:
505-277-4972
E-mail:
rebeccab@unm.edu

Greg Cajete

Professor, American Indian Education; 
Director of Native American Studies

Office:
Mesa Vista Hall 3080
Telephone:
505-277-3917
E-mail:
gcajete@unm.edu

Sylvia Celedon-Pattichis

Professor, Bilingual/ESL

Office:
Hokona Hall 232
Telephone:
505-277-2536
E-mail:
sceledon@unm.edu

Pisarn Bee Chamcharatsri

Associate Professor, Bilingual/TESOL

Office:
Hokona Hall 245
Telephone:
505-277-2345
E-mail:
bee@unm.edu

Ashley Dallacqua

Assistant Professor, Literacy and Language Arts

Office:
Hokona Hall 209
Telephone:
505-277-9610
E-mail:
adallacqua@unm.edu

Carlos LópezLeiva

Associate Professor, Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Studies; Bilingual/ESL;
Program Coordinator, Bilingual/ESL

Office:
Hokona Hall 292
Telephone:
505-277-7260
E-mail:
callopez@unm.edu

Holbrook Mahn

Professor, Bilingual/ESL;
Program Coordinator, Educational Linguistics

Office:
Hokona Hall 212
Telephone:
505-277-5887
E-mail:
hmahn@unm.edu

Glenabah Martinez

Associate Professor, Educational Thought and Sociocultural Studies;
Associate Dean for Educator Preparation & Development

Office:
Hokona Hall 206
Telephone:
505-277-6047
E-mail:
glenie@unm.edu

Natalie Martinez

Lecturer III, Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Studies

Office:
Hokona Hall 205
Telephone:
505-277-3655
E-mail:
ncmtz@unm.edu

Tryphenia Peele-Eady

Department Chair;
Associate Professor, Educational Thought and Sociocultural Studies;
Program Coordinator, Educational Thought

Office:
Hokona Hall 210
Telephone:
505-277-0437
E-mail:
tbpeele@unm.edu

Mary Rice

Assistant Professor, Literacy

Office:
Hokona Hall 222
Telephone:
505-277-0807
E-mail:
maryrice@unm.edu

Christine Sims

Associate Professor, Educational Linguistics/American Indian Education

Office:
Hokona Hall 216
Telephone:
505-277-3175
E-mail:
csimsacoma@aol.com

Yoo Kyung Sung

Associate Professor, Literacy and Language Arts; 
Program Coordinator, Literacy and Language Arts

Office:
Hokona Hall 208
Telephone:
505-277-1411
E-mail:
yookyung@unm.edu

Vincent Werito

Associate Professor, American Indian Education;
Program Coordinator, American Indian Education

Office:
Hokona Hall 201
Telephone:
505-277-1832
E-mail:
vwerito@unm.edu

Emeritus Faculty - Language, Literacy, & Sociocultural Studies

Lois Meyer

Professor, Bilingual/ESL

Telephone:
505-277-7244
E-mail:
lsmeyer@unm.edu

Rick Meyer

Regents' Professor;
Professor, Literacy and Language Arts

E-mail:
rmeyer@unm.edu

Dr. Lucretia Pence

 

Educational Linguistics Program Faculty

Melissa Axelrod

Professor, Linguistics

Telephone:
505-277-6353
E-mail:
axelrod@unm.edu

Pisarn Bee Chamcharatsri

Associate Professor, Bilingual/TESOL

Office:
Hokona Hall 245
Telephone:
505-277-2345
E-mail:
bee@unm.edu

Paul Edmunds

Research Assistant Professor, Speech & Hearing Sciences and Linguistics

Telephone:
505-277-7539
E-mail:
pedmunds@unm.edu

Cristyn Elder

Associate Professor, English – Rhetoric and Composition

Telephone:
505-234-6229
E-mail:
celder@unm.edu

Chris Holden

Associate Professor, UNM Honors College

Office:
Telephone:
505-277-4306
E-mail:
cholden@unm.edu

Emma Trentman

Assistant Professor of Arabic, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Telephone:
505-277-4771
E-mail:
etrentman@unm.edu

Carlos LópezLeiva

Associate Professor, Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Studies; Bilingual/ESL

Office:
Hokona Hall 292
Telephone:
505-277-7260
E-mail:
callopez@unm.edu

Holbrook Mahn

Professor, Bilingual/ESL; 
Program Coordinator, Bilingual/ESL;
Program Coordinator, Educational Linguistics

Office:
Hokona Hall 212
Telephone:
505-277-5887
E-mail:
hmahn@unm.edu

Lois Meyer

Professor, Bilingual/ESL

Office:
Hokona Hall 267
Telephone:
505-277-7244
E-mail:
lsmeyer@unm.edu

Jill Morford

Professor, Linguistics

Telephone:
505-277-6353
E-mail:
morford@unm.edu

Janet Patterson

Associate Professor, Speech and Hearing Sciences

E-mail:
jpatters@unm.edu

Barbara Rodriguez

Professor, Speech & Hearing Sciences

Telephone:
505-277-9728
E-mail:
brodrig@unm.edu

Eva Rodríguez-González

Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese

Telephone:
505-277-5907
E-mail:
evarg@unm.edu

Todd Ruecker

Assistant Professor, English Language and Literature

Telephone:
505-277-6347
E-mail:
truecker@unm.edu

Julia Scherba de Valenzuela

Associate Professor, Special Education

E-mail:
devalenz@unm.edu

Barbara Shaffer

Professor, Linguistics

Telephone:
505-277-6353
E-mail:
bshaffer@unm.edu

Christine Sims

Associate Professor, Educational Linguistics/American Indian Education

Office:
Hokona Hall 216
Telephone:
505-277-3175
E-mail:
csimsacoma@aol.com

Tryphenia Peele-Eady

Associate Professor, Educational Thought and Sociocultural Studies;
Program Coordinator, Educational Thought

Office:
Hokona Hall 210
Telephone:
505-277-5221
E-mail:
tbpeele@unm.edu

Emma Trentman

Assistant Professor of Arabic, Foreign Languages and Literatures

Telephone:
505-277-4771
E-mail:
etrentman@unm.edu

Erin Wilkinson

Associate Professor, Linguistics

Telephone:
505-277-6353
E-mail:
ewilkins@unm.edu

Damián Vergara Wilson

Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese

Telephone:
505-277-5907
E-mail:
damianvw@unm.edu
undefined